The modern Burmese state was founded in the 18th century, although the area had been inhabited as far back as the 1st century BCE. It became a British colony in 1885 and was considered a province of India.

During WWII, Japan promised Burma’s independence if the latter joined their side, to which they agreed, but occupied the state instead in 1942.

In 1945, the Burmese army joined the British side and defeated the Japanese in the region.

Once the war ended and the British military administration was withdrawn, discussions for a peaceful transfer of power began.

On January 1947, the British agreed to Burma’s independence. The Burmese soon after decided to leave the British Commonwealth of Nations.

A new cabinet was formed, a new constitution written, and on January 4th, 1948, Burma (which was renamed Myanmar in 1989) became an independent state.