Ursula von der Leyen has been nominated by European Leaders for a second 5-year term as the President of the European Commission.

She expressed her gratitude to EU leaders through a post on X, noting that her and her colleagues, all hearkening from pro-EU centrist groups, must now be confirmed by the European Parliament.

Meanwhile, Estonia’s Prime Minister Kaja Kallas is slotted to be the next chief of foreign affairs of the EU.

The former Prime Minister of Portugal Antonio Costa has been nominated to be the next chairman of EU summits.

Commenting on the nominations, the Prime Minister of Greece Kyriakos Mitsotakis offered his congratulatory messages through a post on X, noting the many challenges that lie ahead.